Katips: The Movie wins big at the 70th FAMAS Awards

CAST of musical drama Katips: The Movie receiving the Best Picture award. — PHOTO BY FACEBOOK.COM/FAMASOFFICIALPAGE/

A FILM about the tribulations of student activists during martial law was the big winner of the 70e Philippine Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) Awards Ceremony on July 30 at the Metropolitan Theater in Manila.

The musical drama from Philstagers Films won seven awards from its 17 nominations, including Best Director, Best Actor and Best Picture.

Katips: the movie is a musical drama adapted from the 2016 musical Katips: Ang Mga Bagong Katipunero. Written and directed by lawyer Vince Tañada, who also stars in the film, the story follows a group of rebels, led by student leader Greg (played by Jerome Ponce), subversive writer Panyong (Mr. Tañada) and Alet (Adelle Ibarrientos), and their efforts to continue the fight against dictatorship even when the odds seem against them. The film will premiere in theaters nationwide on August 3.

Katips: the movie is Mr. Tañada’s first film. “This is the first movie I’ve produced with the hard-earned money I saved up as a lawyer,” he said in English and Filipino as he received his Best Director trophy.

Mr. Tañada, who also won Best Actor for Katipsbegan studying theatrical arts in New York and returned to the Philippines to complete his law studies.

“I told my parents that I wanted to follow my passion for theater arts. That’s why I founded the Philippine Stagers Foundation where I directed and wrote for 30 years,” Mr. Tañada said in both English and Filipino.

“I really need to make this movie because only through movies will I be immortalized as an artist,” he said.

FAMAS also presented special awards that night including Natatanging Alagad ng Sining to newly conferred national artists Ricky Lee and Nora Aunor. Ms Aunor also received the Susan Roces Celebrity Award at the same event. A Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Tessie Agana. Allen Dizon (for Best Actor) and Jess Navarro (for Best Editing) were inducted into the Hall of Fame. Dr. Jose R. Perez was awarded to director Moira Lang, and the German Moreno Youth Achievement Award was presented to brother dancers and content creators Ranz and Niana Guerrero. The first Angelo “Eloy” Padua Memorial Award went to Renz Spangler for Journalism.

Meanwhile, the FAMAS Presidential Award was given to Quezon City 5e District Representative Patrick Michael Vargas; the Outstanding Public Service Award at Pangasinan 4e District Representative Christopher “Toff” De Venecia; the Exemplary Public Service Award to Senator Imee Marcos; and the FPJ Memorial Award to Senator Jinggoy Estrada.

The event was hosted by Inka Magnaye.

The FAMAS Awards are considered the oldest existing awards body in the Philippines and one of the oldest in Asia, having started in 1953. The awards are presented by the Philippine Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, an organization made up of writers and film columnists. .

Below is the full list of winners:

Best PictureKatips (Philstager Films)

Best Director — Vince Tañada for Katips

Best Actress — Charo Santos-Concio for Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Best actor — Vince Tañada for Katips

Best Supporting Actor — Johnrey Rivas for Katips

Best Supporting Actress — Janice de Belen for big night

Best Screenplay — Jun Lana for big night

Best Cinematography — Manuel Abanto for Katips

Best Production Design — Whammy Alcazaren for Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Best Editing — Fajardo Law for A hard day

Best Musical Score — Pipo Cifra for Katips

Best Original Song — “Manhid and Sa Gitna ng Dulo” — Katips (Music: Pipo Cifra, Lyrics: Vince Tañada)

best sound — Albert Michael Idioma, Alex Tomboc, Pietro Marco Javier for A hard day

Best Visual Effects — Studio Santelmo for My Amanda

Best Short FilmSee you soon George! by Mark Moneda — PLANS

Comments are closed.